IMG_9772

I fell asleep
to the sound of two people talking by the seaside
Whispering as if trading secrets
their mouths had just came to know
Though they didn’t say,
everything was to be held sacred.
Each story laid out bare,
too fragile not to be handled with care.
When asked what he wanted
most in the world,
he only said “I love beautiful things.”
I’ve fallen in love with those words
that I wake up every morning
with sole purpose of finding beauty
in places I’ve always overlooked.
I’ve passed it on to other people
whom I thought needed it the most,
but not everyone understood.
So I tell them about the boy,
who talked of nothing but what made him happy
like he was trying to say
things that make him smile
are what’s most beautiful.

words and photograph: The Fire Escape

Leave a Reply

